gluten free Apple Beignets with Caramel Sauce

Leave a comment

September 29, 2012 by Tamika

Gluten free baking 101 classes will return soon.. for now, there is this;

Gluten Free Apple Beignets. Dreams

gluten free apple beignets. with a spiked caramel sauce. Yes, you read that right.

I recently discovered Sweet Paul Magazine (and blog and facebook page) and I am smitten. It’s beautiful. It’s lush. It is a balance of food and crafts and fun and it’s on line, so it wont be begging to be recycled, which is good, because I have a hard time parting with food magazines (i get stuck reading for hours when I’m supposed to be recycling).

When saw this recipe, the Recipe Monday, something happened inside me and I had to make them, immediately, but first I had to get apples and cider.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had anything remotely close to a donut. I am completely gluten, corn, oat, xanthan and guar gum free (and anything else coming from corn free), kind of puts a damper on store or bakery bought gf goods for me. So I’ve figured a few things out on my own (see previous post on Pastry). These Apple Beignets practically screamed my name.

For starters, here is My own APOTHECARY gluten free basic flour mix: It may seem like a lot (actually, I halved it for you), but if you’re going to bake, best to have this on hand. I use this for anything that has leavening (cake, pancakes, popovers, ect.. and now donuts!).

300 grams brown rice flour

250 grams sweet white rice flour (mochi flour)

250 grams tapioca flour

100 g sorghum flour

100 grams potato starch (not flour.. that’s instant potatoes)

50 g arrowroot starch

I use Psyllium Husk powder as a binder. 1 1/2 teaspoons per cup of gf flour mix.

Here is Sweet Paul’s original recipe:        

Apple Beignets with caramel sauce
Serves 4

1 cup sugar
3 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup water
4 tablespoons dark rum
1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
6 tablespoons heavy cream
2 apples, golden is great
1 1/2 cup plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 large egg
3/4 cup apple cider
corn oil for frying

powdered sugar

Start with the sauce.
Heat the sugar in a pan on medium heat.
Once its melted and golden brown add butter, water, run, vinegar and cream.
Stir until you have a smooth sauce.
Remove from the heat and pour into a bowl.

Remove lumps of sugar if you have any

Peel and core the apples.
In a bowl stir together flour, baking powder, egg and cider.
The batter should be thick.
Dip the sliced apples into the batter.
Heat the oil in a large pot.
Fry the apple slices until golden.
Let them run off on paper towel.
Sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Serve hot with the sauce.

Here is what I changed:

1 1/2 cups of my Apothecary gf flour mix
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons psyllium husk powder
2 teaspoon flax meal mixed with 1 tablespoon water, let rest a few minutes
3/4-1 cup apple cider

sizzle sizzle pop!

Mix the flour, baking powder, psyllium husk powder together in a bowl. Whisk flax meal gel with the egg, add 3/4 cup apple cider, then add to dry ingredients. Let this rest while you finish peeling/ slicing apples and heat oil. GF flours absorb liquid, it’s important to let them do this in certain recipes. Place apple rings on a clean dishtowel or paper towels to absorb any juice that sweats off them, this makes it easier for the dough to adhere. If the batter is now too thick add more apple cider and whisk, keep adding until the batter is a bit thicker than pancake batter.
Follow Sweet Paul’s directions from here. I doubled the batter recipe, it made a lot.

I did not sprinkle with sugar, I felt the caramel was quite enough. I might try cinnamon sugar next time too!

way too many.
Speak your mind.

