Fall is underway. Time to make (gluten free) Apple Cake

2

October 17, 2012 by Tamika

Fall is not endearing itself to me this year. I’m not ready. I really wasn’t finished with summer. It streaked past too quickly, I was so busy making jam and gluten free baked goods to sell at farmer’s markets and driving my teen daughter to her job and back and everywhere else. Summer just flew. Except our fantastic trip to Acadia, that lingers. I want to go back there now. I bet it’s magnificent in fall. Really I’m not loving fall because I know what follows after (though I bet Acadia is spectacular in Winter too!).

Later in the day…

I was driving upstate NY yesterday (to pick up 10 pounds pork belly from a happy animal farm) got stuck in construction traffic and took this

Perhaps I’ve changed my mind since yesterday morning. Though I do know what comes after fall, and I’m none too pleased.

To get myself into the ‘hunker-down’ mode of cooler weather I have, naturally, been cooking with apples, pears and pumpkins. I roasted the first butternut squash out of our GARDEN last night, along with our OWN garden potatoes. There is the fall love.

Now, to help ward off the cold of winter we must also fatten up. Right?? I mean, how else can we stay warm and stay with in our heat budget? Consider the extra padding as a warm down comforter you wear all the time, that wont shrug off easily (uh…. let’s not think on that until next Spring). This Apple Cake will help keep you warm.  You will want to make it again and again. Come spring we’ll probably be trying berries in it.

Apple Cake

(based on David Rocco’s Apple Yoghurt Cake as seen in Kitchen Heals Soul )

1 1/3 cups (199 grams) Apothecary basic flour blend

1 1/2 tsp psyllium husk powder

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup plus a 1/3 cup sugar, separated

7 oz butter, softened

2 large eggs

1/2 cup yoghurt (whole milk preferably)

2 apples, peeled, cored, thinly sliced

zest from one lemon

Preheat at oven to 350* Butter and flour an 8 inch round cake pan (I used a spring form pan for presentation)

In a small bowl whisk together the dry ingredients, except sugar, set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer or in a medium bowl with a hand mixer, blend softened butter with 1/2 cup sugar until light. Add eggs one at a time beating until combined, add lemon zest then yoghurt. Mixing on slow speed, add the dry ingredients. remove bowl from mixer and fold in the apple slices. Turn batter into prepared cake pan, sprinkle top with remaining 1/3 cup sugar.

Bake for 40 minutes then check for done by slipping the tip of a thin knife into the center, if it comes out clean remove to a rack to cool. It may take up to an hour.

This cake lends itself to changes/additions of spice, and pears and orange zest instead of lemon.

2 thoughts on “Fall is underway. Time to make (gluten free) Apple Cake

  1. Looks delicious, but I think I’d go for honey or rapadura…

Speak your mind.

