gluten free Biscotti

3

December 2, 2012 by Tamika

I’m not sure why I’ve avoided baking biscotti all these gluten free years. I used to have a small, local, cookie company focusing on biscotti, the gluten version (Bodhi Biscotti). They were so popular I was baking biscotti all the time, I limited myself and became bored. With the holiday season upon us, and one of my busiest baking-to-order times, I decided to try a small batch yesterday, what did I have to lose? I used the same old tried and true base recipe, added some dried cranberries, pistachio and cocoa nibs. Perfect. Exactly how they used to be gluten!Biscotti

Now if I could just let go and be brave in the rest of my life.

I offer you a base recipe for gluten free biscotti. This is based on an old traditional recipe handed down to me from someone (I forgot!), devoid of any added fats, though a tablespoon of good olive oil can be used as a lovely flavouring. Be totally creative with this recipe, but avoid too much added liquid, it makes the dough very soft and sticky and will spread like a cookie in the oven instead of holding it’s shape.

Gluten Free Biscotti

2 1/2 cups apothecary basics all purpose flour mix (recipe found on this page) *

2 tsp. psyllium husk powder

1/2 tsp apple pectin powder (optional, adds a bit of structure)

1 tsp salt

1 cup organic sugar or other dry sweetener (maple sugar, madura, palm sugar)

3 or 4 large eggs (if you want to add a tbsp of olive oil do so after the 3rd egg)

1 tsp vanilla or almond extract

1 cup raw pistachios

1 cup dried cranberries, soaked in very hot water for 15 minutes then blotted dry

1/2 cup cocoa nibs

Egg for egg wash

coarse sugar to top

Preheat oven to 350* line baking sheet with parchment or silicone (silpat)

In the bowl of a stand mixer combine all the dry ingredients (through sugar), turn mixer on low a minute to blend. Add eggs one at a time with the paddle blade on medium, after three eggs let the dough mix thoroughly, if it doesn’t come together into a ball add a little olive oil or another egg. Add extract, pistachios, cranberries and cocoa nibs. IMG_0315

Scoop the dough out on to a (gf ) floured surface, with floured hands knead it into a log shape, if the dough is too loose to hold it’s shape need in a little flour at a time, it will be sticky, but should stay in place.

biscotti

Make an egg wash by whisking an egg with a little water. Spread a thin layer on top of biscotti log, sprinkle with coarse natural sugar.

IMG_0316

Gently place biscotti log onto prepared baking sheet, put on a rack in the middle of your oven, bake for 25-35 minutes, until golden on top and a little hollow sounding when thumped. Remove from oven and let cool to warm or room temp.

IMG_0318

With a bread knife, cut log into 1/2 inch slices, either on a diagonal or straight across (diagonal will give you longer pieces).

Lay these bake on your baking sheet cut side up and bake for another 20-30 minutes, turning once halfway through, until golden. If you like biscotti drier, bake another 10 minutes.

IMG_0319

(sorry about the blurry picture.. only one I had. It’s really annoying)

Some variations to consider:

chopped crystallized ginger and dark chocolate!

dried cherry with pine nuts (or almonds, or pecans, or chocolate!)

chopped candied orange peel and chopped dates, with a 1/2 tsp cinnamon and cardamom!

Cocoa nibs with dried chili powders, cinnamon and chopped candied orange peel!

lemon zest with chopped toasted almond and almond extract!

chopped dried apricot with pine nuts and dried lavender!

Oh MY, the list can go on.. you get the idea!

*Keep in mind I only ever use my tried and true flour blends, if you should choose to use a commercial blend I can’t be held responsible for your biscotti (or anything) not working. that said, King Arthur brand GF flour mix is basically rice, tapioca, potato starch and should be a good substitute. It’s considerably less expensive to mix your own.

3 thoughts on “gluten free Biscotti

  1. These sound wonderful. Love the egg wash and crunchy sugar topping. (And I covet your marble slab!)

    • Tamika says:

      Thank you! These are low sugar and low fat. Let me know if you try them with a different sweetener. My marble slab was an Ikea find about 20 years ago. I haven’t seen another one. xo

  2. […] The traditional snack for journal editors (it is journal-editing season) is Timbits, which are, alas, not on the list of things I can eat. So I am trying to think of alternatives. Pumpkin bread is possible, as are these rather exciting florentines. I’ve also been meaning to try these biscotti. […]

Speak your mind.

